About the Department

At inception, the Department had seven (7) lecturers. In terms of rank, three of the lecturers were Lecturer II and the others Assistant Lecturer. By qualification, three of the lecturers had Ph.D, two had M.Sc. and the remaining two had B.Sc. (First Class). By nationality, five of the lecturers were Nigerians and two expatriates. Only one of the foundation staff is still in the Department. He is Prof. I. O. Taiwo. Between 1977 and 1990 the number of lecturers ranged between seven and nine. In 1990, the Department had ten lecturers which was a record. In 1991, five lecturers resigned their appointments for various reasons, making the staffing situation precarious. The Department has since recovered, with the staff strength currently at nineteen and a number of applications in the pipeline (see Table 1 for current staff list). At early years of its establishment, Dr. I. I. Ihimodu coordinated the affairs of the Department, while substantive headship lay with the Dean of the Faculty. The Department had a substantive head from its own staff for the first time in 1980, namely Dr. G.N. Anyatonwu. Dr. Anyatonwu died in 1983 and Dr. P.N. Mehotra, an Indian, became the Head.